New Music

French Montana Releases His First Independent Album ‘Montega’

3x Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum recording artist, humanitarian and entrepreneur French Montana releases his first independent and fifth studio album, Montega, via Coke Boys Records. The album is produced by Harry Fraud.

Montega is introduced with “Blue Chills” which commences with ominous instrumentals focusing on Montana’s carelessness towards material items and his hard work towards achieving his personal dreams. The idea of authenticity and realness becomes a theme throughout, as “Bricks & Bags” featuring multi-platinum artist Benny the Butcher alludes to the fact that he is used to people pretending to know him for his fame.

On “Drop Top” featuring Quavo, the Atlanta-based recording artist raps “got a lot of money and it came with the dreams” indicating the ambition and drive it took to become successful. Towards the end of the project, “Drunk Words, Sober Thoughts” offers a posthumous feature from Queens rapper and long-time friend, Chinx. Montana raps, “Mirror what you admire, become what you respect, reflect what you desire, attract what you expect…” referring to his hard-working mentality.

French Montana Releases His First Independent Album ‘Montega’

Fraud and Montana have come together again to collaborate reviewing Montana’s roots and original wave sound they’ve created. Montega includes samplings from different decades of music to create its own original sound such as samples of “Femme Fatale” by Skylar Gudasz and 1970’s track “Since I First Laid Eyes on You” by Lou Courtney.

“Man shout out to Harry Fraud. Just everything came back full circle and everything was going back to that sound,” French Montana said on The Breakfast Club when asked about his Blue Chills song. “When I went into the studio I just spoke how I felt at the time. Everything I went through. Everything that happened for the past couple of years and I put my pain to the music.”

Montega comes on the heels of his fourth studio album They Got Amnesia. The album features hit tracks such as “Mopstick” with Kodak Black, “Stuck in The Jungle” with late rapper Pop Smoke and Lil Durk, and “Handstand” with Doja Cat featuring Saweetie. As a creator and forward-thinker in today’s culture, Montana recently offered a refreshing spin to Canada Dry’s outlook partnering on their latest “Big Comfy” campaign also with Fraud.

  1. Blue Chills
  2. Rushmore Pack
  3. Drive By featuring Babyface Ray
  4. Keep It Real featuring Est Gee
  5. Kind Of Girl featuring Rick Ross
  6. Higher
  7. Bricks And Bags featuring Benny the Butcher & Jadakiss
  8. Poetic With No Justice
  9. Drop Top featuring Quavo
  10. Shorty So Bad
  11. Drunk Words, Sober Thoughts featuring Chinx
  12. Bronx Mecca

French Montana and Harry Fraud’s Montega is now available via Coke Boys Records at all DSP’s. You can now purchase, stream, add, and favorite Montega at your preferred: DSP:


Back to top button